Craig Appleby

Craig Appleby became the 19th head coach at Johns Hopkins in the 74-year history of the men's soccer program in July 2008 and promptly turned in one of the most successful seasons by a first-year head coach in program history. He guided the Blue Jays to a 13-5-5 record, the Centennial Conference title game and the NCAA Sweet 16 in his first campaign. Appleby is the only coach in Johns Hopkins and Centennial Conference men's soccer history to guide his team to the NCAA Tournament in his first season.

In Appleby's second season, the Blue Jays went 16-4-3, won their record eighth Centennial Conference title and advanced to the NCAA Sweet 16. Hopkins lost to the eventual national champion, Messiah, in double overtime on the road. In 2010, he guided the Blue Jays to the NCAA Sweet 16 for the third straight time and a final record of 15-4-4 with a pair of wins over top 10 teams. The three consecutive Sweet 16 appearances are a program first. Hopkins made its 15th straight trip to the Centennial Conference Tournament, the only team to make all 15 tournaments, falling in the semifinals.

Appleby has coached 20 All-Centennial Conference selections, 3 Centennial Conference Players of the Year, 2 NSCAA All-Americans, 1 D3Soccer All-American, 5 Academic All-Americans, and 11 NSCAA All-Region players.

Cornell University - Head Coach (Division I)
John Smith

IVY League

Naval Academy Asst Coach (Division I)
Paul Killian

2013 NCAA Tournament
2013 Patriot League Champions

Johns Hopkins University Assistant Coach (Division III)
Winston Earle

2008, 2009, 2010, 2017 NCAA Sweet Sixteen
2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009 Centennial Conf. Champions

Carnegie Mellon Asst. Coach (Division III)
Jonathan Velotta

2000,2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2008,2009,2012,2013 NCAA
2000,2001,2002,2003,2004,2009,2013 UAA Champions

NYU Asst. Coach (Division III)
Joe Ruesgen

2010, 2007 & 2006 NCAA Tournament
2010 UAA Champions

Washington U of St. Louis - Asst Coach (Division III)
Paul Anderson

2006, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2012,2015, 2016 NCAA Tournament
2011,2012 UAA Co-Champion

Stevens Institute of Technology Head Coach (Division III)
Dale Jordan

2008 NCAA National Final
2007,2008,2009,2010,2011,2012,2013,2014,2015 NCAA Tournament
2007,2008,2009,2010,2011,2012,2013,2014,2015 Empire 8 Champions

Johns Hopkins University GK Coach (Division III)
William Vanzela

2008, 2009, 2010, 2017 NCAA Sweet Sixteen
2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009 Centennial Conf. Champions

Elon University Assistant Coach (Division I)
Maciej Sliwinski

2011, 2012, 2013 Southern Conference Champion
2015 CAA Regular Season Champion
2011, 2012, 2013 & 2015 NCAA Tournament

Robert Morris - Assistant/GK Coach (Division I)
Brandon Regan

1993, 1994, 2005 NCAA Tournament
1993, 1994 & 2005 NEC Conference Champions

Xavier - Assoc. Head Coach (Division I)
David Costa

2010, 2011, 2012 & 2014 NCAA Tournament
2010 & 2011 Atlantic 10 Champions

Head Coach - Wilkes University (DIII)
Michael Piranian

Middle Atlantic Conference - Freedom

Head Coach - Hampden Sydney DIII
Tommy DiNuzzo

Old Dominion Athletic Conference

Head Coach-Haverford College DIII
Zach Ward

2012, 2015 & 2016 NCAA Tournament
2012, 2015 & 2016 Centennial Conference Champions

Our staff has consisted of coaches from the following schools:

University of Maryland, NC State, Old Dominion, University of Virginia, Wake Forest, Carnegie Mellon, Case Western Catholic, Gettysburg, Johns Hopkins, Kean, Lynchburg, Vassar, Washington & Lee, Columbia, Harvard, Princeton, Elon, Loyola (MD), Navy, Wofford, Belmont, East Tennessee State, Georgia Southern, Radford, Winthrop